People Need Crackers!

A while ago we bought a trio of flavoured goat cheeses from Costco.  The flavours were Fig, Bruschetta and Herbs de Provence.  The fig one was the first to get opened and Ray enjoyed his spread on crackers while I tried dipping carrots into it, I tried spreading it on slices of farmer sausage and I tried eating it right off the little spreader knife.  None of those were a good fit and I decided right then that life needs crackers.  But since life doesn’t need grains, I needed to make my own crackers. 

Last night was my first try at cracker making and man alive, they turned out GREAT!  There are only four ingredients besides herbs and spices and they’re all normal ingredients.  Next time I would roll them out much thinner and bake them a little longer, but flavor and texture wise, they were absolutely fantastic!  I had to put them away and go to bed or I’d have eaten every single one of them!  I cannot wait to try them with a bit of creamy goat cheese spread on top this weekend!

 

Grain free Crack-ers

1 cup almond meal (very finely ground if you do it yourself)

¼ cup parmesan cheese

2 tbsp ground flaxseed

1 tsp Italian Seasoning (or combo of basil, oregano, thyme, sage)

½ tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp paprika

Salt & Pepper

1 tbsp olive oil

1 egg white

Mix the dry (except for the S & P) until well combined.  Add the olive oil and the egg white and mix (squish by hand) until you can squeeze it into a ball.

Spray two large pieces of parchment with oil.  Put dough ball between the sheets and roll out to quite thin.  You’ll probably have to try it first to see how thin, I made mine too thick although they were still good.Peel the top piece of parchment off carefully and slide the second piece of parchment with the dough onto a baking sheet.  Score with a knife or pizza wheel to your desired shape and then sprinkle with salt & pepper and pat that on gently so that it sticks.

Bake 350 for around 15 minutes, check after 12 minutes and watch closely, once they start browning they’ll go quickly.  You want them to become a nice, golden brown colour.  Remove from oven and rest for 10 minutes before breaking them apart.  Store airtight once cool!

Before the cracker making we had another adventure last night.  Grace had her first trip to an off leash dog park.  She started out pretty solid, was curious and respectful for the first few minutes. Then about 6 other dogs all showed up at the same time and that was too much for her.  She rolled an English bulldog and tried to beat up another little dog.  I had her lay down and watch for awhile after that before we left so that she left there on good terms.  I decided to try her walking off leash on the way home and it worked out fairly well!  It definitely helped that I had a handful of pork to keep her focus from wandering but even after the pork ran out she was still pretty good.  We walk her lots, usually 10km/day, but what she also needs is mental stimulation such as off leash walks and dog friends.  Everyone arrived home in one piece so I have to chalk the day up as a success!

Lots of fun stuff this long weekend for us.  We’re staying home but we have some cool plans.  Ray’s been on afternoon shift for three straight weeks so these three days off together will give us a chance to reconnect with each other and recharge our batteries.  Can’t wait!

Hope your long weekend is filled with relaxation and alcohol, I know mine will be!

2 thoughts on “People Need Crackers!

  1. I was lucky enough to get to sample those crackers and I can say first hand they were AMAZING! I’m planning on making a batch myself as soon as I get the chance. Thanks for posting the recipe and letting me have a sample!

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

